Movies

Hermit Morgan Briefly Touches on the awesomeness of Safety Not Guaranteed

I would very much like to like to connect our homes via ziplines, Drew.  I’m definitely seeing my dream Shinto-shrine-esque abode up in the trees…  I would also love to perhaps share in the respondents of your woodsman search- that sounds like it would be a fantastic addition to my life.  Your ad also reminds me of Safety Not Guaranteed‘s most wonderful premise:

“WANTED: Somebody to go back in time with me. This is not a joke. P.O. Box 91 Ocean View, WA 99393. You’ll get paid after we get back. Must bring your own weapons. Safety not guaranteed. I have only done this once before.”

Aubrey Plaza (P&R supa star), Mark Duplass (man who writes the ad; I mean- hello, pick ME, pick ME!!), and Jake Johnson (gotta love those “New Girl” roommates) are a pretty awesome bunch to spend 86 min with- it’s a movie I watched over J-term that’s sweet (just wait for the scene when Duplass’s character surprises both Plaza and her character, Darius, with a song and zither accompaniment- yes, he plays the most awesom-ust zither), fun- I mean look at this exchange- and that jean jacket:

safety-not-guaranteed-pic31

It’s heartfelt- look at your twin bandanas, Drew!!

safety-not-guaranteed_320

And it’s different, with really thoughtful portrayals of people who feel different, and, despite the risks, want to take a chance and believe in something.

So I challenged myself to post before my 5 o’clock dinner, and I’m 6 min over- but this is the first out of seven posts I’ll write this week- woot woooot!  That’s right- Morgan is taking on a seven day challenge, posting once a day to get back into the goodness of thinking about something besides my classes Japanese Art History and US Politics in Comparative Perspective (though- I am really enjoying my classes!! Loads and loads of interesting reading! …Just loads of it, you know?)  Anywhos- MUCH LOVE, Mo

PS- Thoughts on my new hermit-studying persona name?  Right now it’s between Her-mo and Mo-mit…Yikes.

Standard