Musing, poetry

” ‘Tis a Fearful Thing”

Morgan: I hope you like the new header! I felt as if we needed a change. I’m not totally into it-I wish I had photoshop!-but it’ll do, I think. ANYWAYS. Here is a poem I heard quoted in a This American Life Episode. It’s called ” ‘Tis a Fearful Thing.”

‘Tis a fearful thing
to love what death can touch.

A fearful thing
to love, to hope, to dream, to be –

to be,
And oh, to lose.

A thing for fools, this,

And a holy thing,

a holy thing
to love.

For your life has lived in me,
your laugh once lifted me,
your word was gift to me.

To remember this brings painful joy.

‘Tis a human thing, love,
a holy thing, to love
what death has touched.

–Yehuda Halevi

Image

Long Island Sound, the other night. 

SEE YOU SOON! Much loov, Droo

Standard

Leave a Reply

