Uncategorized

Big News: Still Alive and Still in VT

Dear Drew,

THANK YOU for two glorious years of sharing a blog avec moi!!  And for your post commemorating our 2 year anniversary!

Ron-Swanson-Gif

Dancin’ it out.

ANNNND– thank you for sharing Yehuda Halevi’s poem– it’s apparently never to late to find one’s all-time favorite poem.  It’s one I will return to often.

ANNNNNNNNNNND– thank you for your granyolo– that’s write AutoCorrect I didn’t mean just regular granola.  It’s DELICIOUS and I LOVE YOU.  Thank you.

I just checked out my ‘quotezz’ folder where I compile screenshots of various articles and, well, quotezz, and this one popped out to me:

Lao-Tzu: “If you try to change it, you will ruin it.  Try to hold it, and you will lose it.”

If anything, we’re two years away from living in Seattle together, no?  I like this plan very much.

No pics of Midd yet, then again I don’t think any photo/description could justly reflect both how beautiful and green it is here (and the perfect amount of breezy) and how this is LIT.ERALLY amazing me.  After our winter in MN, this is just like…ehh?  It can look/be/feel like this?!  I suppose it’s just been a long winter.

I’m feeling much better as I forgot I normally do after whatever I’m anxiously cursing about actually starts.  Funny that in less than 2 years college became something totally in my comfort zone and I completely forgot how to deal with being uncomfortable.  Less scared by the program I think I was just scared I was scared.  Surprisingly, it’s been a while.  Obviously I don’t generally like being scared but I’ve been in that little warm college-y nest for so long I can’t even deal with the prospect of doing something new?

Well, as I said, I’m feeling much better now.  I’m in a double and my roommate reminds me of my roommate Emma so I already feel at ease with her– even as if we’ve known each other for a while which is pretty cool.  I’ve met another girl named Morgan (who also really wants to find out more about the possible existence of a taiko drumming group within the Japanese school), and a number of other folks.  We just took the placement exam this morning and during breaks and lunchtime it has been fun to observe the range of ages and motivations for choosing Japanese amongst the students.

I sign the language pledge tomorrow and while I’ve been taking it lightly as it usually goes– I read the document I’ll need to sign and found it super inspiring!!  When I sign things like that I can’t help but feel…committed?  Of course I’ll be checking in with you but I hope to discipline myself to be as true to the pledge as possible!

Oooooo– on a completely different note– this was the site I poorly explained the other day!  It’s called “Call Me Ishmael.” Ishmael set up a phone number for people to call and share a story about a book they love/why they connected to the book.  He posts a video of every message and then based on confidential feedback/voting he also transcribes one message every day.

I love it.

Even if it’s a book I don’t know, or I can’t clearly hear what someone says– just hearing someone’s voice sharing something important to/struck them/stayed with them over the years is pretty cool.  Nerdy, huh?  Making CONNECTIONS #imafan.

Listening to the videos made me actually get up and try to look around for Guy Gavriel Kay’s Tigana, like…I even wanted to freaking call Ishmael!  Alas, I brought it to MN and didn’t bring it back with me.  That book came to mind immediately– it was the first book that introduced me to characters who were truly ‘in the grey.’

Fav stand-alone book EVA

Fav stand-alone book EVA

It felt like so many of the fantasy books I’d read up to that point were set up with the whole good vs. evil premise, maybe some cut the bad guys some slack towards the end with some story about their past or something, but usually that was it.  Tigana on the other hand…holy cow.  Like HOLY COW.  The initial ‘bad’ guy remains the ‘bad’ guy but is it ‘bad’ to love him too?  Because I did.  Could it be okay to have someone/something be more complex than good or bad?  I’d say that it certainly made for a more enjoyable, powerful, and fulfilling experience reading Tigana.

What book(s) would you choose?  What would you say if you left a phone message?

Did I say I cried when I read the poem you posted?  I think I did.  It pulled on my heartstrings.  Apologies for the monkey-mind post– I’m everywhere– trying to get out all the English I can ;]

Okay.  I’m going to nap.  Packing super late is catching up with me.

Hope all is going well as you prepare for your summer adventure on Monday!!  Looking forward to your next post.

As always, many many thanks & much much love,

Mo

Standard

Leave a Reply

